AIADMK sends former Justice Minister Shanmugam for Rajya Sabha


Ending days of speculation over its choice of candidates for two seats in Rajya Sabha, the AIADMK on Wednesday night nominated former Justice Minister C.Ve. Shanmugam and former Ramanathapuram district secretary of the party, R. Dharmar, for the seats.

This was announced by O. Panneerselvam, coordinator, and Edappadi K. Palaniswami, co-coordinator in a statement. Earlier, Deputy Coordinators, KP Munusamy and R. Vaithilingam held a nearly three-hour discussion at Mr. Panneerselvam’s residence in the city.

While Mr. Shamugam, also AIADMK’s Villupuram District Secretary, belongs to the Vanniyar community, Mr. Dharmar is from the Maravar sub-sect of Mukkolathors.

The former Minister of Justice has been with the camp led by Edappadi K. Palaniswami and deals with legal issues regarding the party. Mr Dharmar served as Ramanathapuram district secretary in 2016, before being replaced by former IT minister Mr Manikandan. At present, he is the President of the Mudukulathur panchayat trade union, in addition to being the secretary of the party’s panchayat trade union unit.

One factor that worked in his favor is that he was instrumental in organizing a meeting in his district for Mr. Panneerselvam, when the AIADMK coordinator undertook the “Dharma Yudham” campaign in 2017 By choosing the two people, the party maintained a balance. between regions and communities,” said a senior leader.

Several names have been circulating over the past two weeks and they include former Ministers S. Semmalai, D. Jayakumar B. Valarmathi and R. Gokula Indira; Former Madurai MP R. Gopalakrishnan and former legislator JCD Prabhakar.

Last week, a meeting was held with senior members and officials to discuss the names, during which the party leadership was allowed to finalize the nominees.


Comments are closed.