Justice minister says states will follow Putrajaya on effective date of anti-partisan laws


De facto Justice Minister Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Wan Tuanku Jaafar said the enforcement date will be announced by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong. — photo by Bernama

By Soo Wern Jun

Tuesday, October 4, 2022 4:25 PM MYT

KUALA LUMPUR, October 4 – States that have passed similar laws prohibiting their elected officials from switching parties mid-term can only enforce it after it comes into force at the federal level, the minister of state said today. de facto Justice Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Wan Tuanku Jaafar.

Wan Junaidi also said that the date of the execution will be announced by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

“For the information of Members, the Constitution (Amendment) Act (No. 3) 2022 [Act A1663] regarding the prohibition of members of the House of Representatives from changing parties received the approval of His Majesty the Yang di-Pertuan Agong XVI on August 31, 2022 and was published in the Official Gazette on September 6, 2022.

“However, the effective implementation of Law A1663 is postponed to a date to be determined later, subject to the approval of His Majesty the Yang di-Pertuan Agong XVI,” he said in a parliamentary response. written to Rasah MP Cha Kee Chin.

The DAP lawmaker had called for the final statute of the anti-party-hopping law for each state after the federal Constitution was amended.

He also asked for a list of states that disagreed with the enactment of similar legislation and their reasons for not complying with the federal law,

But Wan Junaidi gave only states that welcomed the anti-party law, naming Perak, Penang, Selangor and Negri Sembilan.

The anti-party hopping law was passed by more than two-thirds of Dewan Rakyat in July in response to the 2020 ‘Sheraton Move’, when political defections caused the collapse of the Pakatan Harapan government.

The collapse led Perikatan Nasional to come to power unelected, only to be forced to cede last year to Barisan Nasional which was defeated in the 14th general election.

The new amendments will cause MPs and Assembly members to lose their seats if they change parties or join one after being elected as independents.

There are three exceptions, namely dissolution or cancellation of the politician’s party registration; the expulsion of the politician from his party; or the politician resigning from his party after becoming chairman of the Dewan Rakyat or his respective state assembly.


Comments are closed.