UP Justice Minister Brajesh Pathak seals a convincing victory for Lucknow Cantt | Lucknow News


Brajesh Pathak after beating SP candidate Surendra Singh Gandhi

LUCKNOW: BJP leader and UP justice minister Brajesh Pathak scored a convincing victory in Lucknow Cantonment constituency.
Opposed to Samajwadi party candidate Surendra Singh Gandhi aka Raju Gandhi, Pathak won with around 40,000 votes. The BJP managed to retain the cantonment seat for the second consecutive time. In 2017, BJP’s Reeta Bahuguna Joshi defeated SP candidate Aparna Yadav from here.
Pathak, who successfully contested the Lucknow Central Assembly constituency in the last election, was fielded this time from the cantonment. Shortly after Pathak’s victory, his supporters began to invade his residence. They applied “gulaal” to saffron and brandished slogans in its favour. Pathak, too, gave a warm welcome to all his supporters and party workers, thanking each of them for securing his victory in the hustings.
“It’s a win for government projects, a win for Prime Minister Narendra Modi and a win for Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath,” Pathak said shortly after his poll results were announced. He said it was a victory for a people and a victory for good law and order. People voted for the development works carried out by the BJP government in the state. I thank everyone who voted for the BJP, he added.
Meanwhile, speaking to YOU, Raju Gandhi said: “I gave a good fight. The SP never polled 68,000 votes here. Mine is the highest number of votes so far. ”
The cantonment constituency includes localities such as Talkatora Road, Rajendranagar, Naka Hindola, GRP Colony, Blunt Square, Mavaiyya, Charbagh, Lalkuan, Udaiganj, Vidhan Sabha Marg, Sadar, Dilkusha, Alambagh, RDSO Colony, Vijaynagar, Krishnanagar and Shringarnagar.
In all, 11 candidates were running in this constituency. While 16 candidates had been fielded from this seat in 2017, in 2012 polls the number was 25. The gender ratio in the Lucknow cantonment seat in 2019 was 890 women to 1,000 male voters. In the 2017 assembly polls, there were 3,61,298 eligible voters, of whom 2,00,705 were men, 1,67,586 women, and 20 were of the third sex.


Comments are closed.